Skip to main content


Public Sector Catering Awards ceremony to celebrate excellence in education catering

20 Mar 2024
The Public Sector Catering Awards, which aim to celebrate individuals and teams that work within the industry, has announced the shortlist of finalists.

The Public Sector Catering Awards will return to the Hilton London Metropole on Thursday 4th April 2024. There are 18 award categories, that represent all areas of the sector. The Public Sector Catering Awards night host will be radio and television presenter Colin Murray.

If you are interested in booking a place at the awards ceremony, visit here. Tickets include a pre-dinner drinks reception on arrival (6.45pm), a three-course dinner (7.30pm), awards ceremony and after dinner entertainment until 1am. 

The Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to an individual who has demonstrated outstanding leadership qualities, drive, ideas and influence that makes them a worthy winner of the highest accolade the industry can bestow.

David Foad, editor of Public Sector Catering, said: “Congratulations to all those who have made it through the judging process to the shortlists. Your efforts have been rewarded already, and it will get even better for the category winners when they are announced at the Public Sector Catering Awards night on April 4th at the Hilton London Metropole in Edgware Road.”

Shortlisted finalists in selected categories:

Catering Manager of the Year Award           

  • June Cormie - Education Catering
  • Amanda Gunn - NYES Catering (North Yorkshire Council)
  • Jody Marshall - Meallmore Limited
  • Nuno Matias - Royal Brompton Hospital
  • Jacqui Osgood - Greenshaw Learning Trust
  • Costas Papaioakim - Sodexo
  • Kimberly Sloan - East Ayrshire Council

Chef of the Year Award

  • Kath Breckon - NYES Catering (North Yorkshire Council)
  • Saverio Cordaro - Ardingly College
  • Ravikkanth Kanthiya - Royal Holloway, University of London
  • Tony Murphy – ESS
  • Stuart Pelham - Llys Cyncoed, Care UK
  • Gary Periti - Sodexo UK & Ireland

Contract Caterer of the Year Award  

  • Cleverchefs
  • ESS
  • OCS
  • Signature Dining Ltd

Education Catering Award

  • AiP
  • Downham Market Academy Catering Team
  • Impact Food Group
  • Priory School Catering Team - SENDAT
  • The Pantry (UK) Limited
  • Waltham Forest Catering

Health and Nutrition Award           

  • Louise Goodall - OCS
  • Caterlink Nutrition Team
  • Food Review Expert Panel
  • Healthy Zones Programme - School Food Matters
  • King's Food Team - King's College London

Innovation Award             

  • Autocanteen Ltd
  • Cool Food Pro
  • East Riding Catering Services (ERCS)
  • ESS
  • Magic Breakfast
  • Compass Group One Retail Team

Marketing Award              

  • Colm Bradley - Education Authority
  • Brakes
  • Harrogate Neighbours Meals on Wheels Service
  • Shire Services

Special Contribution Award            

  • Robin Dudley & Gary Kilminster - Essential Cuisine
  • Nick Vadis - NHS Supply Chain: Food
  • Feed the Future Campaign - The Food Foundation

Team of the Year Award   

  • Britten Court, Care UK
  • City Catering Southampton Cooking at Home Team
  • East Ayrshire Senior Catering Management Team
  • ESS Operation Golden Orb Team
  • Sodexo and DIO teams based in Cyprus
  • Tower Hamlets Universal Free School Meal (UFSM) Project Team

Training and Apprenticeship Award             

  • Andrew Cullum - Four Seasons Health Care
  • Alex Wilcock - Sodexo
  • Mathew Shropshall - UCB College of Food
  • Education Catering, Cardiff Council

Unsung Hero Award

  • Dale Campbell - Brooke Weston Trust
  • Lisa Connellan - King's College London
  • Fiona Murray - East Ayrshire Council
  • Michael Taylor - Sodexo